The Scribe Awards 2008

Posted on

The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers handed out the second annual Scribe Awards during a Saturday event at Comic-Con International.According to co-founder Max Allan Collins, “The nominee panelists were a varied and interesting lot, with our Faust winner Alan Dean Foster a particular standout. Andy Mangels did his usual smooth emcee job, and it was great having co-founder Lee Goldberg on the panel.”The Scribes also handed out the first Grandmaster Award which honors a writer for his extensive and exceptional work in the tie-in field. This year’s honoree is Alan Dean Foster.As to the winners themselves….BEST GENERAL FICTION ORIGINALMR. MONK AND THE TWO ASSISTANTS by Lee GoldbergBEST GENERAL FICTION ADAPTEDAMERICAN GANGSTER by Max Allan CollinsBEST SPECULATIVE ORIGINALSTARGATE ATLANTIS: CASUALTIES OF WAR by Elizabeth ChristensenBEST GAME-RELATED ORIGINAL (SPECIAL SCRIBE AWARD)EBERRON: NIGHT OF THE LONG SHADOWS by Paul CrilleyBEST SPECULATIVE ADAPTED30 DAYS OF NIGHT by Tim LebbonBEST YOUNG ADULT ORIGINALNANCY DREW AND THE CLUE CREW #10: TICKET TROUBLE by Stacia Deutsch & Rhody CohonBEST YOUNG ADULT ADAPTEDTHE 12 DOGS OF CHRISTMAS by Steven Paul LeivaI served on the Best General Fiction Adapted award jury but am giving jury duty a pass this year given what’s going on. Instead, I’ll be submitting Hellboy II for consideration, a first for me.

2 thoughts on “The Scribe Awards 2008

Comments are closed.

Back to Blog Listing