The Scribe Awards

Posted on

As previously discussed, I am a charter member of the International Association of Media Tie-In Writers. One of the many things debated during the founding of the organization, nearly a year ago already, was the creation of Awards to acknowledge the best in our business since media tie-ins may get nominations elsewhere, but never win.This week, the following was announced and thought I’d share for those interested for any reason.The Scribe Awards and How You Can EnterThe IAMTW will present six awards in three categories for books (including comic books and graphic novels) published in 2006. We will also honor one “Grandmaster” for career achievement in the field.SPECULATIVE FICTION (Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror)BEST NOVEL (adapted) – A licensed novelization based on an existing screenplay, whether its a feature film, episodic teleplay, computer game, script, or play.BEST NOVEL (original) – A licensed, original novel using pre-existing characters or worlds from a movie, television series, computer game, play, or an existing series of novels (ie new novels extending a literary franchise, ie DUNE, James Bond, etc.)GENERAL FICTION (Mysteries, Thrillers, Westerns, Suspense, Historicals, Romances)BEST NOVEL (adapted)BEST NOVEL (original)YOUNG ADULT (All Genres)BEST NOVEL (adapted)BEST NOVEL (original)GRANDMASTER (For Career Achievement)The judging committees are made up of three of your peers from within the organization, writers who know the unique obstacles and restrictions that tie-in writers face, because they are tie-in writers themselves. The judges will read all the submissions in their category and select both the nominees and the winners (a system patterned after the Mystery Writers of America and the Private Eye Writers of America among others).Rules for SubmissionAuthors can submit multiple titles, but only ONE BOOK PER CATEGORY/ONE CATEGORY PER BOOK (i.e. you can’t submit the same book in two different categories or multiple titles in one category. Authors who’ve done several books in any one category need to pick the one title that seems strongest and submit only that).Only authors can submit their books for consideration but we encourage you to have your editors/publishers send the actual books on your behalf so you don’t have to raid your author’s copies or pay the postage.Judges can submit their work, but obviously not in the categories they are judging.The book must be a licensed work published for the first time between Jan 1, 2006 and Dec. 31, 2006. Only books with a copyright date of 2006 will be eligible for consideration. Though novels published through December 31, 2006, are eligible, entrants are required to get copies of eligible work into the hands of the category judges no later than December 1st, to allow adequate time to review the titles. Galleys are acceptable.All entrants MUST include a cover letter with each book. The cover letter must include the following information: the Category you are entering, Title of the Book, Name of the Author, Publication Date, Editor & Publisher, and email & “snailmail” addresses and phone numbers for the author and editor.A copy of all submissions—the book and cover letter—should be sent to each judge in the category you are entering and to the IAMTW. Please send an email to for the list of judges and their mailing addresses. IAMTW members can find the list in the MEMBERS ONLY section of this site.Submission is free for any IAMTW member. Non-members must pay a $10 fee for each submission to cover our costs (payable via Paypal or by check to IAMTW, PO Box 8212, Calabasas, CA 91372).A list of all the books submitted will be posted here and updated regularly. The nominees will be announced, to entrants and the media, in February 2007. The location and date of the awards ceremony is TBD.

Back to Blog Listing